The Influencer

A Fresh Pot of Coffee
1 min readNov 23, 2020
Photo courtesy: https://www.obi4wan.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/fashion_banner_tekengebied-1.png

I was mesmerized by her olive skin, impeccable style, her silky voice saying ‘Please Subscribe to my channel’. Her desirable lifestyle was out in the open for millions of views. I was a stalker.

For few weeks she disappeared from my feed. I visited her profile and discovered other followers asking whether she was taking a break. Finally her much awaited reel appeared. It had been posted five minutes back.

She was behind the wheels as the car sped at 150mph on a dark highway. Her red lips dazzled under the car lights, against the dimly lit background. A familiar song played “This is the end, my only friend, the end.”

It felt uncanny but as I scrolled, the post said it was sponsored by a makeup company. “#redbonanzabyrola @rolacosmetics” it read. I moved on to the next post.

Next morning an article appeared “Social media influencer kills herself, Rola Cosmetics gains 300,000 followers overnight”

--

--

A Fresh Pot of Coffee

Decluttering my mind, scooping out deep-seated thoughts, stirring my soul and expressing them for you to enjoy some fresh, awakening perspectives