In Hathras

A Fresh Pot of Coffee
3 min readOct 1, 2020

I was helping my family in the field
Chopping the crops, checking the yield.
I hummed a tune that I had heard recently,
Imagining myself in stories shown on TV.
I could hear my brother and mother’s banter,
They were talking about what to make for dinner after.

Dusk began to set in , we were getting done for the day.
Ma called my name “Manisha, chal aa jaa jaldi”
I heard the shuffling in the field as they left.
I always stayed back to watch the sunset.
The tall bushy crops swaying against the pink sky
were my daily dose of hope, gave me respite.

I got up, untied the dupatta from my waist
Wiped my sweat and walked towards the sunset.
I heard the sound of some footsteps behind
I turned around to check who else could be there.
“Kaun hai”, I asked, peeking through the crops
Rabbits, or rodents or maybe someone lost?

Out of the blue appeared four men , big and tall
Their faces were covered, their voices were dull.
I recognized one of them, Sundeep wasn’t it?
I lowered my eyes. That’s what Dalit girls…

--

--

A Fresh Pot of Coffee

Decluttering my mind, scooping out deep-seated thoughts, stirring my soul and expressing them for you to enjoy some fresh, awakening perspectives